Skip to content

UK Politics Academics on Twitter: A League Table

We recently published a list of UK based Politics, IR and Public Policy academics on Twitter and since then we’ve had lots of additions to the list, which now contains over 250 academics.

We will periodically continue to update the list, so please let us know if we’ve missed anyone or, if you’re new to Twitter, we’ll add you.

However, we thought it would be interesting to take a snapshot of the top 50 academics, by follower numbers. We hope this will encourage others to think about how they use Twitter for research, teaching and dissemination.

Follower numbers were accurate as of Wednesday June, 19th 2013.

Name

University

Twitter

Followers

Christopher M. Davidson Durham dr_davidson

30, 592

Matthew Goodwin Nottingham GoodwinMJ

5,938

Philip Cowley Nottingham philipjcowley

5,693

Matthew Ashton Nottingham Trent DrMatthewAshton

4,511

Norman Geras Manchester normblog

3,847

Kristian Ulrichsen LSE Dr_Ulrichsen

3,811

Patrick Dunleavy LSE PJDunleavy

3,417

Alex Callinicos King’s alex_callinicos

3,183

Laura McAllister Liverpool LauraMcAllister

3,135

Laura Hammond SOAS lhammondsoas

2,928

Olaf Cramme LSE olafcramme

2,659

Tim Bale Queen Mary ProfTimBale

2,524

James Boys Richmond/King’s jamesdboys

2,349

Lord Norton of Louth Hull LordNortonLouth

2,248

Steven Fielding Nottingham PolProfSteve

2,098

Peter R. Neumann King’s PeterRNeumann

1,869

Andreas Bieler Nottingham Andreas_Bieler

1,599

Tony Bovaird Birmingham tonybovaird

1,558

Martin O’Neill York martin_oneill

1,505

Stefan Wolff Birmingham stefwolff

1,483

Robert Ford Manchester robfordmancs

1,461

Catherine Baker Hull richmondbridge

1,442

Andrew Chadwick Royal Holloway andrew_chadwick

1,410

Colin Talbot Manchester colinrtalbot

1,404

Stuart Wilks-Heeg Liverpool StuartWilksHeeg

1,327

Colin Corpus De Montfort ProfCopusLG

1,304

Becca Reilly-Cooper Oxford boodleoops

1,287

Marc Stears Oxford mds49

1,272

Peter John UCL peterjohn10

1,198

Andrew Russell Manchester PoliBlogManc

1,166

Matthew Ford Hull warmatters

1,148

James Ker-Lindsay LSE JamesKerLindsay

1,147

Jon Sullivan Nottingham jonlsullivan

1,105

Jenny Mathers Aberystwyth jgmaber

1,095

Jack Holland Surrey DrJackHolland

1,094

Chris Brooke Bristol chrisbrooke

1,068

Jon Tonge Liverpool JonTonge

1,068

Simon Usherwood Surrey Usherwood

1,045

Phil Clark SOAS philclark79

1,041

Simon Hix LSE simonjhix

1,033

Michael E. Smith Aberdeen ProfMESmith

1,009

Jason Dittmer UCL RealJDittmer

855

Stephen McKay Lincoln SocialPolicy

853

Christine Cheng King’s cheng_christine

846

Ben O’Loughlin Royal Holloway Ben_OLoughlin

825

Ian Greener Durham ijgreener

775

Darren Lilleker Bournemouth DrDGL

755

Paul Cairney Stirling CairneyPaul

746

Helen Margetts Oxford HelenMargetts

743

Alan Renwick Reading alanjrenwick

728

Published inAcademic Impact

6 Comments

  1. Ala'a Ala'a

    Why isn’t @madawiDr of King’s College with over 100k followers not on the list?

  2. RP RP

    dont think tankers count?

  3. Colin Talbot Colin Talbot

    At over 1,800 followers don’t I get to be included 🙁 ?

    Plus, when’s the institutional list going to appear?

    Cheers

    Colin

  4. Colin Talbot Colin Talbot

    Oops, sorry, just found the departmental list – but commented it misses the biggest on-line presences: politics/policy academic blogs and associated twitter followers: e.g. LSE’s (biggest by far) and our Manchester Policy Blogs/Policy@Manchester (5,420 followers).

  5. Colin Talbot Colin Talbot

    OK, please delete the first comment above! I blame 10 hour drive back from Paris yesterday (went to see first grandson)! That’s my excuse anyway. Grovelling apols.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *